PRODUITS ESPACES Marques & Designers Thèmes Offres Info Showrooms
Carronade Spot Pendant
Nouveauté
Suspension Caleo Original
Nouveauté
Soleil Pendant
Nouveauté
Carronade High Floor
Nouveauté
Caleo Pendant
Nouveauté
SAX Model 120 + 223 Wall
Nouveauté
Model 375 Table
Nouveauté
Model 172 Pendant
Nouveauté
Lamella Pendant
Nouveauté
Caché Pendant
Nouveauté
Model 101 The Lantern Pendant
Nouveauté
Model 181 Comet Pendant
Nouveauté

À propos de Le Klint



"Made in Odense since 1943 and we still do !", le fabricant danois de luminaires Le Klint peut se targuer de plus de 75 ans de savoir-faire traditionnel. Ce qui n'était au départ qu'un passe-temps pour la famille et les amis est devenu l'une des plus importantes manufactures de design du Danemark, où de grandes choses sont créées à la main à partir de papier et de plastique. Le Klint travaille exclusivement avec du papier de haute qualité ainsi qu'avec un film plastique spécial aux propriétés durables, dans le but fantastique de transmettre une lampe Le Klint de génération en génération, préservant ainsi une belle pièce de design danois.

Des itinéraires de transport courts et transparents, l'utilisation de bois certifié de la région et la promotion de l'artisanat local ont toujours fait partie de l'image de marque de Le Klint. La durabilité est dans l'ADN du fabricant et a été une décision consciente dès le début. En même temps, l'entreprise ne s'arrête jamais dans le développement de ses célèbres abats-jour. Des architectes de renom comme Poul Christiansen et de nombreux jeunes designers talentueux contribuent de manière significative à l'intégration des technologies de pointe dans les processus de production traditionnels. Ce faisant, Le Klint réussit toujours à rendre l'apparence des lampes d'une beauté intemporelle, convenant aussi bien aux intérieurs modernes que classiques. Le fait qu'ils soient le fournisseur officiel de la cour de la famille royale danoise en est une preuve suffisante.

Hollywood a également frappé à la porte du Klint : Aux côtés de la flamboyante légende hollywoodienne Marilyn Monroe, la suspension Modèle 101 apparaît lumineusement dans le film "Let's Make Love" de George Cukor.


L'art du pliage Le Klint : méticuleux, brillant, intemporel


D'un simple hobby à la société Le Klint

Lorsque P. V. Klint, architecte et ingénieur de renom à l'époque, cherchait un abat-jour pour sa lampe à paraffine spécialement créée, il l'a conçu lui-même sans plus attendre - le Modèle 1 était né, un véritable original. Les normes sont élevées et une équipe de parents et d'amis travaille intensivement à l'affinement de la teinte de l'abat-jour. En guise de remerciement, chacun reçoit son propre exemplaire. Ce hobby devient une entreprise lorsque le fils Tage Klint fonde Le Klint en 1943. Sa fille Lise Le Charlotte Klint est la donatrice du nom. Des brevets sur les techniques de pliage ont été demandés et accordés dès 1938. 10 ans après la création de Le Klint, le fils de Tages reprend l'entreprise : Jan Klint, autrefois ingénieur aéronautique en Californie, introduit le film plastique et compose le PVC spécial pour Le Klint. À ce jour, le fabricant utilise, en plus du papier, une feuille de luminaire filigrane en plastique PVC, qui ne contient aucun plastifiant nocif. Celui-ci est 100 % recyclable et présente une agréable diffusion de la lumière.

Modèle 1 de P. V. Klint


La Famille Klint : ce qui n'était au départ qu'un passe-temps devient l'incarnation de l'artisanat et du design danois


Modèle 172 de Poul Christiansen

Des architectes de renom et de jeunes designers ambitieux

La combinaison de l'art traditionnel du pliage avec de nouveaux matériaux et formes a toujours assuré le design unique des lampes Le Klint. Poul Christiansen a été le premier artiste étranger à rejoindre Le Klint dans les années 1960 et a déclenché une vague d'idées influentes. Architecte et designer qualifié, il s'est rendu compte que les courbes mathématiques donnaient à l'art du pliage de Le Klint une toute nouvelle et unique direction. De manière impressionnante, Modèle 172 est le résultat de la juxtaposition de nombreuses courbes sinusoïdales qui confèrent à une pièce une harmonie lumineuse particulière. Depuis lors, de nombreux designers talentueux, tels que Rikke Frost et Takagi & Homstvedt, ont enrichi la gamme du fabricant danois de dessins brillants, sans jamais dénaturer l'ADN de Le Klint.


Le magasin Le Klint en 1943 ...

... et aujourd'hui basé à Copenhague


Tradition et modernité

Ouvert à Copenhague en 1943, le magasin est toujours le même aujourd'hui, si ce n'est que la responsable actuelle ne s'appelle plus Lise Charlotte, mais Luise, et que le papier peint à fleurs a cédé la place à un design mural moderne et à des accents lumineux choisis de manière non aléatoire. L'art pur du pliage est préservé en interne et constamment transmis à la prochaine génération de plieurs. Ce n'est pas pour rien que les originaux Le Klint du style d'ameublement Midcentury répondent toujours aux exigences de l'habitat moderne. Les matériaux et les couleurs des luminaires sont choisis judicieusement et leurs formes rigoureuses et organiques illuminent une pièce de manière harmonieuse, élégante et stylée à tout moment.

Luminaires Le Klint au magasin de Copenhague


L'art du pliage en série

La production en détail


Modèle 101 aux côtés de Marilyn Monroe

Le Klint à Hollywood

Pour le film "Let's Make Love" avec la star mondiale Marilyn Monroe, Hollywood frappe aux portes de Le Klint en 1960 et commande l'emblématique "Frugtlygten", modèle 101. Conçue par Kaare Klint en 1944, la lampe à fruits, également appelée "lanterne", fait face à la légende hollywoodienne avec bravoure et élégance. Rien d'étonnant à cela : Kaare Klint, le frère de Tage, est lui-même un architecte passionné et enseigne en tant que professeur à l'école du meuble de l'Académie royale danoise de Copenhague, spécialement fondée en 1924, et considérée comme l'ancêtre du design danois. De nombreux talents prometteurs, tels que Arne Jacobsen, Verner Panton et Hans J. Wegner ont fait partie de ses élèves et sont devenus à leur tour des designers de renommée mondiale.

Le Klint Logo Frugtlygten


La fondation

En 1972, Le Klint est devenu une fondation. Ce qui semble être une démarche très traditionnelle est une démarche tournée vers l'avenir, reflétant une approche responsable vis-à-vis de ses employés, de la culture d'entreprise et de la préservation du patrimoine de Le Klint. Cette étape est combinée avec le statut que Le Klint ne peut être vendu et qu'il y a un échange étroit avec le conseil permanent de la fondation. En outre, Le Klint s'est engagé par cette démarche à attribuer chaque année des bourses à de jeunes architectes et designers et à promouvoir ainsi les jeunes talents.

Avec Jan Klint, Le Klint devient une fondation


Modèle 172 de Le Klint


Suspension Lamella par Le Klint

Caleo Original de Rikke Frost


Suspension Soleil par Le Klint

Lampe de table Modèle 375 par Le Klint

PRODUCTS ROOMS Manufacturers & Designers Highlights Offers Info Stores
Model 172 Pendant
Carronade High Floor
Soleil Pendant
SAX Model 120 + 223 Wall
Caché Pendant
Carronade Spot Pendant
Caleo Pendant
Model 375 Table
Lamella Pendant
Model 101 The Lantern Pendant
 Model 181 Comet Pendant
Shibui Pendant
Shibui Wall Lamp
Bee Hive Table
New
Shibui Floor Lamp
Caleo Original Pendant

Not found what you were looking for?
We can deliver all products from this manufacturer. Please contact us at +49 341 22228822 or service@smow.com to discuss your specific product request.


Le Klint



“Made in Odense since 1943!”, The Danish lighting manufacturer Le Klint can proudly claim, and looks back on more than 75 years of traditional craftsmanship. What began as a hobby for family and friends has become one of the most important design manufacturers in Denmark, producing great things by hand from paper and plastic. Le Klint works exclusively with high-quality paper and a specially made plastic film with long-lasting properties and which allow Le Klint lamps to exist as beautiful pieces of Danish design that can be handed on from generation to generation.

Short, transparent transport routes, the use of certified wood from the region and the promotion of local handicrafts have always been part of Le Klint's philosophy - sustainability is in the manufacturer's DNA and was a conscious decision from the start. The company never stands still in the development of its famous lampshades. Established architects such as Poul Christiansen and numerous talented young designers make a significant contribution to incorporating the most modern technology into traditional production processes. Le Klint always succeeds in designing the appearance of the lights to be timelessly beautiful, suitable for both modern and classic interiors: their status as official purveyor to the court of the Danish royal family being confirmation of the exacting standards. And that other royal court, Hollywood, has already knocked on the door at Le Klint: alongside Marilyn Monroe the Le Klint Model 101 shines in the film “Let's Make Love”.


The Le Klint art of folding: careful, brilliant, timeless


A Hobby becomes Le Klint

When PV Klint, a renowned early 20th century architect, was looking for a shade for his specially created paraffin lamp, he designed it himself - Model 1 was born, a genuine original. In order to perfect the design a team of family and friends contribute to refining the shade; and as "thank you", everyone receives their own shade. The hobby turned into a business when PV's son Tage Klint founded Le Klint in 1943: the French sounding name coming courtesy of Tage's daughter Lise Le Charlotte Klint. As early as 1938, patents on the folding techniques were registered and approved. 10 years after the founding of Le Klint, Tages's son Jan takes over the business: having worked as an aviation engineer in California, Jan introduces the plastic film and manufactures the special PVC for Le Klint. In addition to paper, Le Klint still uses a filigree luminaire film made of PVC plastic, a film which does not require any damaging plasticizers, is 100% upcyclable and has a pleasant light permeability.

Model 1 by P. V. Klint


The Klint family: What begins as a hobby becomes the epitome of Danish craftsmanship and design


Model 172 by Poul Christiansen

Renowned architects and determined young designers

The combination of the traditional folding art with new materials and shapes has always been responsible for the unique Le Klint lamp design. Poul Christiansen was the first external artist to join Le Klint in the 1960s and triggered a wave of decisive ideas. The trained architect and designer recognized that mathematical curves give the Le Klint folding art a completely new, unique direction; considerations given form in the Model 172 a work resulting from the combination of numerous sinus curves and which bequeaths any room a special harmony. And since Christiansen's first designs numerous talented designers, including, and amongst others, Rikke Frost or Takagi & Homstvedt, have enriched the Danish manufacturer's range with engaging designs, without ever falsifying the Le Klint DNA.


The Le Klint Store in Copenhagen in 1943 ...

... and today


Tradition and modernity

The Le Klint store in Copenhagen opened in 1943 and is still the same today, except that the current store manager is no longer called Lise Charlotte, but Luise and the floral wallpaper has given way to a carefully designed modern wall design and light accents. The unadulterated art of folding is preserved internally and continuously passed on to the next generation of craftsfolk. That Le Klint originals with their breath of Midcentury modernism still meet contemporary living standards is no chance occurance: the materials and colours of Le Klint lamps are discreetly chosen and their stringent to organic shapes illuminate a room harmoniously, elegantly and stylishly at all times.

Le Klint lamps in the manufacturer's Copenhagen store


Folding art in series

Le Klint production in detail


Model 101 alongside Marilyn Monroe

Le Klint in Hollywood

For the film “Let's Make Love” with world star Marilyn Monroe, Hollywood knocked on the Le Klint doors in 1960 and ordered the iconic “Frugtlygten”, Model 101. Designed by Kaare Klint in 1944, the fruit lamp, also known as the “lantern”, performs alongside the Hollywood legend with bravado and elegance. No wonder - Kaare Klint, Tage's brother, was a passionate architect, a professor at the Furniture School, which was founded in 1924 at the Royal Danish Academy in Copenhagen, and is considered the grandfather of Danish design. Numerous young talents, such as Arne Jacobsen, Verner Panton and Hans J. Wegner were among his students before becoming internationally renowned designers themselves.

Le Klint Logo Fugtlygten


The Foundation

In 1972, Le Klint became a foundation. What sounds like a retrograde action is in fact a future-oriented step that reflects responsible action with regard to its employees, its corporate culture and the preservation of the Le Klint heritage: not least because it is linked to the statute that Le Klint cannot be sold and a close exchange must take place with the permanent board of the foundation. In addition, with this step, Le Klint committed itself to awarding scholarships to young architects and designers every year and thus to promote the next generation.

Under Jan Klint, Le Klint became a foundation


Model 172 from Le Klint


The Le Klint Lamella Pendant

Caleo Original by Rikke Frost


Soleil Pendant from Le Klint

Le Klint Model 375 Table


More about 'le klint' in our blog

The Historia Supellexalis: “L” for Le Klint

Le Klint A Phaesporia; A Fonden; A Pleat As the ancient runes and paintings within the Caves of Lego record, during a period of great darkness in the lands of the contemporary Denmark one Peder Vilhelm det Klint, more commonly recorded as PV, a sage of...


All 'le klint' Posts